Trusting God’s Promise


Church 1This article is intended specifically for Terry’s and my fellow members at Zion Lutheran Church in Walburg, Texas. It’s also directed toward every person, young or old, lay or clergy, faced with the decision of how much is enough to give back to God. That’s not always a simple decision.

A couple months ago it became obvious that the total weekly offerings at Zion were falling about 20% short of the amount required to meet budgeted expenses. On several separate occasions I expressed to Terry my concern about this matter. A few weeks later we decided to do something.

Our decision was to increase the amount of our weekly offering by 25%. Frankly, this was not an easy decision. Last year we had pledged a sizable amount for Zion’s three year Capital Stewardship Campaign. Already stretching our finances to meet that challenging pledge, the thought of adding an additional 25% to our weekly offering caused me to furrow my brow.

Then I read again the words of Malachi 3:8-10: God said to the people of Israel: “You are robbing me.” The people asked: “How are we robbing you?” God answered: “In tithes and offerings. You are under a curse—your whole nation—because you are robbing me. Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Put me to the test and see if I will not open the windows of heaven and pour out upon you a blessing so great that you will not be able to take it in.”

Really not anticipating any specific blessings over and above the spiritual ones we’ve been receiving bountifully throughout the 50 years of our lives together, imagine our surprise when two totally unexpected checks arrived in the mail within weeks of our decision to increase our weekly tithe and offering! The sum of those checks was over five times more than the total amount by which our offerings were increased for an entire year!

This past Sunday afternoon I shared this story with the crowd of folks who had gathered for our congregational voters’ meeting for the purpose of adopting our budget for the coming fiscal year. It was not an easy meeting. I expressed to the crowd my wonderment whether those two checks would have arrived even if we had not made the decision to increase our weekly offerings. I quickly added that although that may certainly have been the case, I would always be convinced that they came in fulfillment of God’s promise in Malachi 3.

My encouragement to each of you, dear friends in Christ, is to put the Lord to the test, as he has challenged us to do. The bountiful blessings you receive may not be the same as ours. They may be even greater! Regardless of the type or amount of your blessings, I pray and predict that you will experience special joy in the process of anticipating the fulfillment of God’s promise!

Leave a Reply

