A New Language


Text MessageIt’s hard to believe that today’s edition of Perspectives concludes the sixth year of these weekly articles. I don’t mind admitting that the deadline is sometimes a bit daunting and that topics of interest sometimes come more readily to mind than at other times. Feel free to send suggestions.

In addition, in a world of sound bites, brevity is important. Often I find it difficult to address complex topics with only a few words. When Perspectives first began, my St. Louis LCMS International Center staff insisted that I restrict these articles to two paragraphs. LOL! For a while I did pretty well at that. Not so much lately. However, beginning today and at least for a few weeks, I’ll make an effort to be brief. But don’t expect miracles!

Today’s article comes, with permission, from a devotion presented at this summer’s Florida-Georgia District LCMS Convention by Rev. Brian Kneser, convention chaplain. It’s not feasible to include here all the comments Pastor Kneser included in his devotion, but I think you’ll get the point from the information he projected on the screen in simple PowerPoint format.

Psalm 89:1: “I will sing of the steadfast love of the Lord, forever; with my mouth I will make known your faithfulness to all generations.”

A New Language: Text Messaging

  • LOL – Laughing out loud!
  • LOLH – Laughing out loud hysterically!
  • LSHMBH – Laughing so hard my belly hurts!
  • ROFL – Rolling on floor laughing!
  • T+ – Think positive!
  • 2G2BT – Too good to be true!
  • 10Q – Thank you!
  • 143 – I love you! (check the number of letters in each word)
  • 1432 – I love you too!
  • If Jesus texted, what would he say?
  • IFYP – I feel your pain.
  • IKYS – I know your sin.
  • 143 – I love you!
  • ISLY – I still love you!
  • IWALU – I will always love you!
  • RYB & PTL – Read your Bible and praise the Lord!
  • EMB – Engaged in the Master’s Business (convention theme)
  • MGBU – May God bless you!
  • AMEN – Amen!
Leave a Reply

