Think Before You Speak!


megaphone-147176_1280Some people say things seemingly without thinking. Here are a few examples I saw recently:

  • A question asked of a contestant in a Miss America contest over 20 years ago: “If you could live forever, would you and why?” The answer of the contestant and subsequent winner: “I would not live forever, because we should not live forever, because if we were supposed to live forever, then we would live forever, but we cannot live forever, which is why I would not live forever.”
  • A famous singer/actress: “Whenever I watch TV and see those poor starving kids all over the world, I can’t help but cry. I mean I’d love to be skinny like that, but not with all those flies and death and stuff.”
  • A well-known actress during an interview to become spokesperson for a federal anti-smoking campaign: “Smoking kills. If you’re killed, you’ve lost a very important part of your life.”
  • A college basketball player: “I’ve never had major knee surgery on any other part of my body.”
  • A former mayor of Washington, D.C.: “Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country.”
  • A major league baseball team manager: “Half this game is ninety percent mental.”
  • A former U.S. Vice-President: “It isn’t pollution that’s harming the environment. It’s the impurities in our air and water that are doing it.”
  • Another former U.S. Vice-President: “I love California. I practically grew up in Phoenix.”
  • A collegiate ROTC instructor: “We don’t necessarily discriminate. We simply exclude certain types of people.”
  • An Australian government official: “Traditionally, most of Australia’s imports come from overseas.”
  • The Department of Social Services in a U.S. city: “Your food stamps will be stopped effective March 1992 because we received notice that you passed away. May God bless you. You may reapply if there is a change in your circumstances.”

A well-known adage is this: “It’s better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.” Proverbs 21:23 says: “Watch your tongue and keep your mouth shut and you will stay out of trouble.” And David said in Psalm 19:14: “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.”

Think before you speak! What you say and how you say it does make a difference!

Leave a Reply

