Some of God’s Greatest Gifts


Child 1This past week I saw a Facebook posting of a little child who was able to hear for the first time in her life. While I don’t recall all the details and tried in vain to find the posting again, what I do recall is that this little child initially cried when the hearing instrument was put in place. Soon thereafter her tears were replaced with a series of smiles at hearing her first sounds. Priceless!

Throughout my life I’ve been guilty of taking for granted the God-given senses of hearing, sight, smell, taste and touch. I’ve never experienced what life is like without them and the older I get the more aware I am of the blessings they bring. I’ve also become more keenly aware of the challenges faced by people who are either born without all of these senses or who lose one or more through illness or injury.

So if you, like I, have been blessed with all five senses and if all of them are still working, count your blessings and be sensitive to what life is like for anyone who is not so blessed. If you are without the ability to see, to hear, to smell, to taste or to touch, thank God for the senses you do have. And be assured that many of us have special respect and admiration for your determination to live life without all of these five senses, some of God’s greatest gifts.

Leave a Reply

