Birthdays and Anniversaries


Birthday CakeBefore getting started with that topic, here’s an update regarding the health and development of my two little grand nieces, Emma and Anna Collins in Evansville, Ind. Both are continuing to gain health and strength, on and off the respirator, weighing in at two pounds each. God be praised! Mother Amanda is recovering from her infection. On the other hand, father Jesse was admitted to the hospital earlier this week with extremely high blood sugar and was diagnosed with diabetes. Please continue to keep this family in your prayers.

Yesterday was our wedding anniversary and my birthday. Having both on the same day has enabled me never to forget our anniversary! I also have never forgotten Terry’s birthday. It falls on the same date (but obviously not the same year) as my mother Elda’s birthday—April 10.

January 29, 1966 was a Saturday. Our wedding took place at 5:00 p.m. at St. Paul Lutheran Church in Austin, the congregation in which Terry was baptized. She went to St. Paul Lutheran School and was also confirmed there, making it the obvious choice for our wedding venue.

Terry and I met during the year I taught at St. Paul. Her little brother was in my fourth grade class. One begins to comprehend the rapidity with which time passes when one realizes that the students in his fourth grade class of the 1964-65 school year are now 59 years old!

Our wedding rehearsal was Friday, January 28. That afternoon I had driven to Austin from College Station, where I was in graduate school at Texas A&M. After the rehearsal dinner, I kissed Terry good night at midnight, drove back to College Station, and got to bed at 2:30 a.m.

Saturday morning I woke up in time for a 7:00 a.m. biochemistry final exam, which I barely passed, and drove back to Austin for our afternoon wedding. Pastor Albert Jesse’s wedding sermon, based on John 2:2, was titled: “They invited Jesus to the wedding.” Indeed, we had!

After a beautiful reception at which I never even noticed the groom’s cake, we drove 60 miles north to Salado for our honeymoon. It was 12 degrees that night, quite unusual for central Texas, even in January. We spent two nights at the historic Stagecoach Inn, at $20 per night. On a parochial teacher’s salary of $200 per month, we couldn’t afford to stay very long.

Monday afternoon we returned to Austin to pick up everything we owned. Then we drove to Houston for the first night in our $75 per month one bedroom apartment. Tuesday morning I began a semester of teaching the fourth grade at Pilgrim Lutheran School in Houston for a young teacher on maternity leave that semester. Terry worked a temporary job to help us save money for our move to Concordia Theological Seminary in Springfield, Ill. that summer.

Most of the rest of our story is history, some of which is still being written. How thankful I am for the privilege of being married to a beautiful, loving, patient, forgiving woman for what is rapidly approaching half a century! We are blessed beyond measure and thank God for his grace!

Remembering birthdays and anniversaries is very important. Doing so communicates to those whose special occasion is being celebrated that they are loved, honored and respected. A person’s birthday is a very real reminder of the intrinsic value of life itself. Isaiah writes: “Before I was born the Lord called me. From my birth he has made mention of my name.” Is. 49:1

Leave a Reply

