More about Church Visitors


Visitor 2

Last week’s article listed “Nine questions visitors aren’t asking but churches are still trying to answer.” It generated quite a few responses, including several asking for a list of questions church visitors are asking these days.

So here’s a partial list of such questions, some of which were provided by my readers, most of which come from my own experience:

  1. Is the parking lot always this full?
  2. Where are the bathrooms?
  3. Are they clean and will they smell fresh?
  4. Will my young child be well cared for in the nursery and feel loved and safe there?
  5. How long will the worship service last?
  6. Will I be able to understand and follow what goes on in the service?
  7. Does the pastor preach from the Bible and does he really practice what he preaches?
  8. Does he always preach this long?
  9. Does he always preach this well (or poorly)?
  10. For what primary purpose does this church exist?
  11. What is the quality of the children’s ministry?
  12. Will my teenagers be excited about becoming involved here?
  13. Is there a ministry for senior adults?
  14. Do the people here get along with other Christians in the community?
  15. If they have communion today will I be allowed to participate?
  16. Will the time I spend here help me find answers to questions I have about God?
  17. Will the time I spend here help me find answers to questions I have about life?
  18. Would I be proud to invite my friends and family to come to this church with me?
  19. Will I leave here knowing and feeling that I have been in the presence of God?
  20. Will I leave here feeling more guilty than when I came or will I feel forgiven?

Pastors and lay leaders should have conversations about these and other questions visitors to your church are likely to ask. Such conversations are best when respectful and non-accusatory, asked and answered with sincere desire to represent with excellence the God we worship.

Remember last week’s reminder of our responsibility as Christians, stated in 2 Corinthians 5:20: “Therefore we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us.” That’s a huge responsibility and awesome privilege!

Leave a Reply

