Ecclesiastical Elections

Credit: phanlop88,

Credit: phanlop88,

This week marks a new process approved by the 2010 Convention of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod for the election of LCMS president. In previous years the president was elected by 1,200 delegates during the convention. That process will not be used this year.

This year the ballots will be cast by the pastoral and lay delegates who actually attended last year’s convention of the district in which their congregation holds its LCMS membership. The number of thusly qualified delegates is approximately 8,000. The new process provides a broader representation and brings the election much closer to individual LCMS congregations.

This year’s election will be held June 22-25. Electronic password protected ballots will be sent to all certified pastoral and lay district convention delegates, who will cast their electronic ballot within the stipulated period. If a majority vote is received by one of the three candidates nominated months ago by congregations of the Synod, the election is completed.

If no majority is achieved, a second ballot will be sent. It will contain the names of the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes on the first ballot. One of those two candidates will very likely receive a majority vote and the results will be announced a few weeks prior to the national convention in St. Louis July 20-25.

As most of us who have had the privilege of voting in any kind of election will readily testify, it’s not easy to know for sure which candidate in any election is most qualified. That’s the case with national, state and municipal elections. It’s also true of church body elections, especially at the district level and most especially at the national level.

Voters faced with casting a ballot want and need information about the candidates. Especially in this case, LCMS voters need to know if the candidates represent the perspectives, values, hopes and dreams the voters have for the future of the LCMS. Do they have the personal integrity, pastoral heart and professional experience necessary for the task? It’s not always easy to know.

Here’s my suggestion, humbly and respectfully offered. Ask your district president for his counsel. Unless the pastoral and lay delegates from your congregation did not attend last year’s triennial district convention, your congregation participated in your district president’s election. He is a trusted leader in your midst. And he knows all three nominees for LCMS president.

So, if you are one of last year’s district convention delegates who will be electing the LCMS president this week, why not seek the counsel of your district president regarding the candidates on the ballot? And if you are a delegate to the national Synod convention in July, why not seek that same counsel regarding candidates for the other officers and board members to be elected?

To assist you in that process, I’ve attached below my signature at the end of this article a list of all 35 district presidents, their office phone number and email address. I’m sure your district president would appreciate hearing from you and will be happy to respond.

If you will not be participating in either the pre-convention presidential election or the elections during the convention, feel free to forward this article to someone who will be involved in those elections. Perhaps that someone will be eternally or, at least, momentarily grateful. J

And don’t forget to pray for the blessing of our Lord on this important ecclesiastical election!

LCMS District Presidents – Spring 2013

Atlantic District 
Dr. David H. Benke
914-337-5700 x2 (O)

California-Nevada-Hawaii District
Dr. Robert D. Newton
925-245-4000/866-264-6079 (O)

Central Illinois District
Rev. Mark A. Miller
217-793-1802 x1 (O)

Eastern District
Dr. Chris C. Wicher
716-634-5111 x12 (O)

English District
Dr. David P. Stechholz
248-476-0039/800-755-9335 x20 (O)

Florida-Georgia District 
Rev. Gregory S. Walton
407-857-5556/877-457-5556 x8 (O)

Indiana District 
Rev. Daniel P. May
260-423-1511/800-837-1145 x2204 (O)

Iowa District East
Dr. Brian S. Saunders
319-373-2112 (O)

Iowa District West
Dr. Paul G. Sieveking
515-576-7666 (O)

Kansas District
Rev. Keith E. Kohlmeier
785-357-4441/800-357-4421 x200 (O)

Michigan District
The Reverend David P. E. Maier
734-665-4248/888-225-2111 x233 (O)

Mid-South District
Dr. Roger C. Paavola
901-373-1343/866-373-1343 (O)

Minnesota North District 
Rev. Donald J. Fondow
218-829-1781 (O)

Minnesota South District
Dr. Dean W. Nadasdy
952-223-2150 (O)

Missouri District
Dr. Ray G. Mirly
314-590-6200 (O)

Montana District
Rev. Terry R. Forke
406-259-2908 (O)

Nebraska District
Rev. Russell L. Sommerfeld
402-643-2961/888-643-2961 x1004 (O)

New England District
Rev. Timothy Yeadon
413-783-0131 x11 (O)

New Jersey District
Dr. Anthony J. Steinbronn
908-233-8111 x11 (O)

North Dakota District
Dr. James A. Baneck
701-751-3424 (O)

North Wisconsin District
Rev. Dwayne M. Lueck
715-845-8241/x17 (O)

Northern Illinois District
Rev. Dan P. Gilbert
708-449-3020/888-708-5267 (O)

Northwest District
Rev. Paul A. Linnemann
503-288-8383/888-693-5267 x127 (O)

Ohio District
Rev. Terry L. Cripe
440-235-2297/800-901-2297 (O)

Oklahoma District
Rev. Barrie E. Henke
405-348-7600 (O)

Pacific Southwest District
Dr. Larry A. Stoterau
949-854-3232/888-PSD-LCMS x201 (O)

Rocky Mountain District 
Rev. Allen D. Anderson
303-695-8001 x102 (O)

SELC District
Dr. Carl H. Krueger, Jr.
414-698-7208 (O)

South Dakota District
Dr. Dale L. Sattgast
605-361-1514 (O)

South Wisconsin District
Rev. John C. Wille
414-464-8100 x14 (O)

Southeastern District
Dr. John R. Denninger
703-971-9371/800-637-5723 x202 (O)

Southern District
Rev. Kurtis D. Schultz
504-282-2632 (O)

Southern Illinois District
Rev. Timothy J. Scharr
618-234-4767 (O)

Texas District
Rev. Kenneth M. Hennings
512-926-4272/800-951-3478 x250 (O)

Wyoming District
Rev. Richard O. Boche
307-265-9000 (O)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s